anyway things are good here, i am currently úploading some more pics...from
the ctm so you can check those out. anyway transfers are coming up so dont
send any thing to the house this week...from mr cheneys..mission ties thing.
i might be transfered, we will know next week on monday.. and from what i
hear next week pday will be on tues, the day you do the transfers and stuff
so next week dont freak out if you dont hear from me on monday. but ya
things are good here...i cooked a cake for dads birthday....so happy
birthday so you harold!!! it was choclate with no frosting...sad uh? but
still good. anyway i cant think of anyting t write cuz i normal put stuff
down in my planner and then i write about it on pday but i left my planner
at the church and i wont get it till tues..tomorrow so i cant think of
anything. and i know when i get my planner i will see that i had all this
stuff to tell you or to ask you and then i will be freaking out cuz i didnt
get to do it. but thats life. welcome to the mission right.....ya my comp
says that like 50 times a day when somthing happens, thats weird. but ya
this week was like drunk week. there were the normal number of drunk people
but this week for some reason they all decieded to stop us...i think theyhad
a meeting and stuff cuz every single one stoped us i swear. and we talked to
them and what not but ya it was weird. but we are still baptising everyweek
so thats way cool. and lets see.....i did alot of dishes today that was
fun...and i cant really think of anything else....i love you guys tons and i
am so sad that i missed yard work day :).....no but really i am. its hot in
the day and cold at night...its like utah. its really not to bad, but i hear
in another part of the misson you sweat like 24/7. so thats going to be fun.
lets see my cloths or holding up and i havnt worn anything out yet so thats
good. well i have to go write the pres now...the weekly report so love ya
tons
hope every one as a awesome week!!!
I LOVE YOU GUYS!
elder davis
Tuesday, May 20, 2008
May 19, 2008
Posted by The Kari at 9:00 PM 0 comments
May 12, 2008 hellllooooo!!!!!
hello again family!!!! so its been one day about.....whats new? well nothinghas really changed here, i would like to say that i know the languagealready but thats not going to happen. anyway i am way excited, i just gotshutter fly to work and its uploading all my pics right now...so you will beable to see more pics of everything going on down here. i dont have time tolabel all of them so you will just have to guess what it is...ha ha. i willtry and put some ctm pics on here too so you mught just be able to see whati have been doing for the past 3 months.anyway, things are still great here! the zone leaders showed up at our houselast night at like 11:30. and we had a sleep over! yah! and then i madefrench toast again for everyone cuz one of the zone leaders is american andhe said he hadnt had that in so long, and kept talking about it andeverything so i decieded to make some....i wont say it but everyone isthinking it..what a nice guy. ha ha jk well other then that everything isstill the same with me. last night after the call, the family whõ´s house wewere at, the little boy in the family had a birthday so i got to have somecake right after the call. it was really cool! well i cant think of anythingelse to put in here. nothing is really coming to mind expect onething....not right away but the next package that gets sent down fromwhoever....i would really like a english and protugues hymn book....thelittle ones....that would be awesome. dont send a package right away justbecuase of that, jsut when the next one comes... like for my birthday. :)anyway i love you guys so much and i want to thank you for all yourprayers...they really do help me so much. its so nice to know that i have afamily who loves me and that is always there for you. thanks again foreverything. and mom thanks again for the peanut butter that is one the way!i am so excited for that, you dont even know! and jake congrats on the trucki was way stoked for ya. erin love ya..megan...ps i am better at savingbrownies then you...kari...you know...:) jill...good luck with efy, yourgoing to be awesome! bodily family...LOVE YA! mom....dont work sohard..serioiusly...dad take care of my baby for me ha ha ha...you betterhave it up and going before the champinionship´...so you can watch it on thebed..kickin it. love you all, hope you have a good week! LOVE YA!!!
elder davis
Posted by Ben Davis at 8:40 PM 0 comments
May 5, 2008 One More Week!!
well i guess the first thing you all want to know is when i will becalling....well yes it is true i will be calling! and i am just as excitedas you are. well here is how it works. i guess there is a way i call and mycomp konws what number to call but we go to a members home and i call youand i get one hour! awesome uh? well i will be calling 7 o clock here. so ithink that is like 3 o clock your time. but double check that and let dadknow so he is at moms house to. but ya i will call you and we can tlk for 1hour. i am way stoked. i am glad to hear you got that flag....brasil pridebaby! well i few things that i wrote down in my planner to make sure italked to you about. first the whole mission ties thing is wroking great.when you guys send them via email and they mail them from sao paulo they gethere way quick. so from now on you can do that until one week beforetransfers. that way just incase i get transfered mission ties letters wontbe going to my old area. transfers are every six weeks and i will remind youabout not sending letters through mission ties every six weeks, and withreagular mail if you send it from the states always send it to the missionhome, somtimes it takes a long time to get here and i dont want to be in anew area and have it come to my old area so those just always send to themission home. but the misson ties thing you can send to my house, up untilone week before transers. well one thing i do wish i knew how to do was toplay the piano.....it would have really helped but oh well, what can you do.no one plays down here. they have them in the churchs but no one plays. ohand jake just fyi you would love the bakerys down here, they have the bestrolls you have ever had. and they are way cheap so i eat alot of them :)they´re aweseome. oh and the other night there was a soccer game on and iknow that because when a soccer game is going on, no one talks to you andeveryone is inside watching it on tv. and when someone scores every housegoes crzy and everybody is shooting off fireworks and what not...its crzy.its way loud everywhere you go. and after the game the people who´s teamwon, drive around the city with a big flag on there car and honking for like20 mins stright...no joke. brasilians are crazy. well todays email wont beto long cuz i am going to post some pics on shutterfly, so you can look atthose. anyway things are great here we had 2 more baptisms and things arejust getting better. everyweek is better then the last and eveything isbecoming easier has i am learning. its back to just me and elder leiteagain. the other 2 elders went to a new area so its back to just us. and yesmom i am staying clean..:) my comp hates how clean i am. brasilians jsutarent that clean i am i constantly cleaning stuff so i dont get sick and heis kinda annouyed aboout it but i mean come on, i got to stay healthy right?well i am eating ok i guess, and by ok i try to eat as healthy as i can,which is pretty good. since i left i have put on 11 pounds. puts thats allmuscle trust me :) ha ha ha oh and i saw something funny the other day at amembers house. so dad you konw that big mouth billy bass you have that singsthat song...down by the river or somthing. wel one of the members has onedown here and its in elnglish, they didnt understand what is was saying buti loved it and it made me laugh for a while. well i will go post soime picsnow. i loove you guys so much. your asesome. thanks for always being thereto support me. i love you guys! and i will talk to you this sunday at 7 mytime. so make sure thats 3 your time and be waitin by the phone. make sureeveryone is there! sunday at 3 dont forget! not that you would but love ya!tchau
elder davis
Posted by Ben Davis at 8:39 PM 0 comments
April 28, 2008 HEY EVERYONE!!
hello again everyone!!!well other week goes by. its crazy time here flies by but at the same timeit stands still, not to sure how that works but ya. well we had our firstbaptism this sunday!! it was awesome. i got to baptise her and it wasdefintily a different experience. way cool though. well other then workingalot and trying to understand whats going on around me, nothing to exciting.this last week the 2 assistants to the president came and stayed with me andelder liete and we went on splits for the week. so i was with elder h santosfor a week. it was nice to see how other people do things, and i really likeelder h santos, he was really helpful with the langauge. elder liete mycomp, is helpful but not to helpful, he talks fast all the time and i dontunderstand half of what he says but edler h santos was really helpfull forthis past week. they might come back this week but we wont know for sureuntill tonight. anyway mom you never did answer me about my card, the feesand everything. and with my card i will rarly use it but you might see sometransactions here and there. but i was just wondering about the fees andwhat not. i hope all is going well with everyone. sounds like erin is doingawesome in soccer again like i thought she would be. and jake getting downand dirty with the truck uh? i hear he has his eagle or is close......ha haha. well things are great here. i get to see elder buck everyonce in awhile.he is in my zone so like everyother week i get to see him. if you dontremember he was my comp in the ctm. oh and mom did you get my packageyet...with that tape!!! let me konw i am now worrried that it will nevermake it...oh and wth pics i can send some over email but email can only holdso many. so i think we should use that shutter fly thing i set up. but iforgot the user name and password for it. but i left a post it on moms deskwith that info. and i am pretty sure you sill have it. so if you could sendme that info i will start posting all of the pics on that site. anywaythings are awesomne here. still trying to get used to everything. thelanguage and brazil and the people and everything. its hard living with abrazilian becuase they just arent very clean. they never wash there handsand they dont do dishes and they just arent very clean so i find my selfcleaning alot. but i guess my wife will just be luckly that she has ahusband who is used to cleaning. other then cleaning all the timeeverything else is pretty good. i kinda just nod my head alot when peopletalk to me and some times i can answer. i am definitly learning patiencewith everything. the language and my comp and this place. well i cant thinkof to much else to say. i mean stuff is happening but nothing important,just alot of walking and cleaning and confusion right now for me. ha ha habut all is good. i am safe and having a good time. i am so glad to have suchan awesoome family. you guys are awesome, every single one of you. so thanksagain for all you guys do. you really do keep me going some days. i love youguys so much. thanks again for always being there. well i cnat think ofanything else so until next week i guess. I LOVE YOU GUYS!tchauelder davis
Posted by Ben Davis at 8:38 PM 0 comments
April 21st, 2008 I MADE IT!!!
hey family!!! i am here!! so i arrvied by plane, went to some house theygave me a meal and a pillow and put me on a bus and now i am here in myarea...it happened way to fast! anyway i got called to serve in GAMA CENTRO!cool uh? anyway its way differnt down here. i have already had my first weekgo by and it was tuff i wont lie, but i got through it. it was hard gettingused to everything. its way different then the ctm. its not a poor area butits not a rich area so its not too bad. its not the hottest area so i luckedout. anyway my new companion is elder leite which is milk in port. so i amserving with elder milk. its so crzy down here, they just do everythingdifferent. but lucky me they got wachers and sandwhich makers for all theareas in the mission so ya i like that. they dont have dryers however, noone does, they just dont believe in them i guess but ya so i eat a lot ofsandwhichs in the moring and at night. my first breakfast i had a hamburgerand it was pretty good. and for lunch we have it in a members home everydayso we always eat alot then. lunch here is a big deal....a really big deal.and its always rice and beans, but out here its way good. the ctm rice andbeans wasnt so good but anway my first sunday was yesterday and wow is itdiffernt. no one can play the piano and i guess most of the american eldersthat have gone through here can so everyone was aking the white boy if hecould play but i can so i was siinging acapella with a bunch of tone deafbrazilans....they really are tone deaf, so you can only imagen, but itscool. and we had our first baptism!!! it was cool. a little 12 year oldgirl. my mission pres said that if we work hard we will baptise everyweek inthe mission, how cool is that! so my pdays are on mondays now, they mightchange when we get a new mission pres but maybe not. we will see. but fornow they are on mondays and about letters the american missionaris said thatthey just have there mail sent to the mission home cuz its easier that waybut then i would only get it every six weeks on transfers but because youare using mr. cheneys it might work. they just say that it takes so long toget down here that when they leave an area mail is still arriving for awhile and they have to wait till transfers to get it anyway so what ever youwant to do it is up to you, you can stop using mr cheneys and just mail tothe mission home or you can mail to my house what ever you want, and alsowith my bank card. i have been using it. i used it 4 times. 2 times at a atmand 2 times a store. what are the fees, cuz i dont konw i hope they weret tomuch. i wont be using it anymore because now i will be using my missionallowance now that i am here and everything so i might use it in anemergency but other then that i wont be using it. but i wondering about thefees if i did have to use it. so let me know. also have you checked on myamercan first account... is it still good and everything? oh and when i gotthe the mission home last week they had me give them your email address andthey sent a letter home to you from me, they also asked for dads email but ikinda forgot it...so if they sent you something by email send it to him. butya its awesome here! it is completely differnt, its really hard to explainbut i am getting the hang of this whole thing. i hope everything is goingwell with you guys. i try to keep my mind off it but how is the carcoming....? emails will definitly be faster so defintily need to email. ikonw mail in brazil from another brazilian city is pretty fast but ya youcan do whatever you want with the letters. use mr chenys dont use mr cheneyswhatever but if you do my address here is..elder benjamin davisQuadra: 14 conjunto ccasa 7 setor centralGama - DFBrazil cep- 72405-140
it will be that till my next tranfer, or i might stay here you never know,but transers are every 6 weeks so just fyi. i have met some american eldershere and there and talkin to them really helped with everything. oh and momif you havent sent that package....send me some peanut butter...they donthave it down here...none....so you can just put it in a plastic bag andsecure it and stuff but ya. anyway i have a lot to tell you but so much isgoing through my mind its hard to think of stuff to say. so i will writethem down for next week. i love you guys so much. you are the best! everysingle one of you. i hope things are going well! school is coming to an endsoon so lucky you...jake and erin... i am just starting on the real thingdown here. i love you guys so much, i can really feel your prayers all theway down here. i love you guys your awesome!
elder davis
ps they all think my name is elder dieves....even though it is right infront of them on my tag, anyway i love you!!!
Posted by Ben Davis at 8:38 PM 0 comments
yo yo yo-its me yogi bear- get your hands out of my picinic basket....4-2-08
HELLO EVERYONE! well now that i know kari is posting the full letters on this blog site and its on the internet for just anyone to see i will have to start watching what i say, i dont want just anyone learning of my secrets. that and i should probably work on my grammer and spelling but its hard to do that when you are trying to learn grammer and spelling of another language i promse i get them mixed up all the time. anyway things are going awesome here. i am loving every minute of it. its crazy how fast time flies. i leave here in like 2 weeks. the rest of this week and then its conf. and then the last week and then i am gone! it just seems like it goes so fast. i am way excited for conf though its going to be aweseom! we get to hear from Pres. Monson, how cool is that! the only downer is that we are watching in the audatorium on really uncomfortable chairs and we have to wear our suits and no snacks...kina lame. i liked being able to get comfortable and have some food to snack on while watching it but i am way excited and its going to be awesome. so you keep asking if i got the packages and yes i got mom´s first 2 and kari i did het yours.....and THANK YOU SO MUCH! they were awesome. it really does just brighten up your day when you get something. espiecally if you are haveing a stuff day. because yes trust me, you can even have them in the ctm before you get out into the field. but it thats whats good about haveing an awesome district, is that they are always there to help with whatever you need. well the language is coming along i would say. i can speak with other americans but speaking with a native is somthing completly different. i promise you its a different language then what they are teaching us. but i am not to worried i konw the lord will bless me if i do my part so i try my best and let him do the rest. well last week we went proslyting and we get to go again this fri. the first time we went was awesome but very humbling. and the second time was even more so....we went to an area where no one wanted to listen to you and it made it hard cuz you could still barly speak to them. but it was a good experiance none the less. this week we get to go agian and i am very excited abou that, we will be able to go to a different area agian so hopfully people will be more open to talking to us. well you guys will get a kick out of this but i am not really sure how it started but one night i went into one of the bed rooms that my district is in and i sung them a song, it was really random and i cant remember what it was but it came out of nowwhere, but now this has turned into a nightly rotiune. sometime during the day i come up with a song and sing it to the elders of room 603, i will have to tell you some of the songs i can remember, lets see i sung: a white christmas by bing crospy, the ocser myer weiner song, i can go the distance from hercules, you got a friend in me from toy story, farmer tan( thanks megan), new york new york, by frankie baby, open the gates and ceize the day from the newies.....ya i know you are thinking how did i even know these songs but i do, anyway its pretty funny. after acouple of nights now all the elders from my district come to room 603 to hear the song of the night before they go to bed. i almost forgot one night and they all came and got me to come up with something so they could go to bed. i know what your going to say i am a genuine......DAVIS!!! were awesome. anyway other then those little exciting things, nohting really is going on down here. today is pday obviously and we didnt get to go to the temple, which i was a little disappionted but we got a lot more free time, this is the most free time i have had in a long time and it is kinda nice to have it, cuz i proabably wont have it out in the field so i am taking full advantage of it. anyway i have some things to buy today and a few errands to run so ya. oh so i was going to tell jake...you would love it down here cuz they have rolls for every meal and you can eat as much as you want....literlly. and erin i am not sure if you are still obsesive about rice but this is the place for you, every meal seriously there is rice and it will be like that for 2 more years so when i get home we can like, eat rice togetther...ha ha k that was lame but missionaries are supposed to be lame right...i am just fitting in gosh...well i cant think of much else to say i am glad to hear anne´s baby is doing well....i definitly want to see these ears he has. and i am going to try and send some pics through email today so hopefully that works. i cant remember if i put it in this letter and i dont want to look through it :) but there is some good news from brazil. the post office down here is on strike, awesome uh! ya we all love it....but not really. ya they went on strike, i am so glad that you guys do mission ties cuz then you can still get stuff to me, and dont worry about packages they come through a differnt busniess then the corries, wchich is the post office, so the one you sent mom will still get here. and i did get your first 2 and kari´s so now worries....THANKS AGAIN, I LOVE YOU GUYS! well thats the big news of the day nothing else has really happened so i will update you on whats going on next week. i love you guys so much and i hope all is well. i want to thank all you guys for your support and love that i feel everyday. i love you guys so much
tchauedler davis
ps is there a brazil flag in the house yet....?
Posted by Ben Davis at 8:37 PM 0 comments