Tuesday, January 13, 2009

ai familia! JANUARY 13, 2009

how is everyone!!! well its good to hear from all of you...wait.... so what
is going on up there, its been awhile since i have heard from you guys. if
you guys sent stuff through mission ties i should be getting it this week if
not next week. but until i get transfered thats just the way it will have to
go...the slow way. so from the few things that i have heard things have been
going pretty well up there. i guess there isnt much to talk about cuz no one
has sent me anything. so i will just have to let you guys know how its going
down here. well today is interviews and me and elder myers are headed into
celandia to have our interviews with the president. and becuase we will be
in a big city...we are definitily going to mcdonalds. well about santo
antonio, things have been really good here, this is a really good area to
work in. the members are awesome and the area has a lot of people that are
very willing to recieveyou. we found a family last week through the little
cards that we give out here. we took the joy to the world dvd to them and it
was great. its a family of like 12, they have a bunch of people living in
their house there. they all were really receptive and all really wanted to
visit the church. we are going to go visit them again today. ps mom everyone
has been loving the smarties... i have been giving them out to the kids in
the streets and the kids we are teaching, its awesome. the funny thing is
the candy says made in canada. anywho, me and my comp have been going at it
with the smores everynight! loving it! we just use the microwave, we tried
to build a fire but it didnt work so we just went with the microwave and its
not to bad. oh and just a question, mom why did you buy the peter pan peanut
butter, i havent seen it for a long time. it was just funny cuz the same day
i got my package i was in brasilia and we found a store that had peanut
butter, it was the peter pan kind but it was like 15 ries....way to
expensive...just weird that the same day i got that peanut butter. anwyay
the package was awesome, thanks angain everyone...kari your package was
awesome too! thanks! so i dont think ihave told you alot about my comp but
his name is elder myers and he is really reall shy. so i have been trying to
get him out of his comfort zone...his bubble. he is a way cool kid but very
shy so its been fun. we have made some contacts where he speaks in english
and i translate to portuguese...jsut to shake things up, its pretty
sweet.well i have a few more photos but they will have to wait till next
week to get on here cuz i didnt bring my camara. this last week we made a
trade with my district leader..that was interesting. he came to my area and
we spent the day working here, but he forgot to give his comp the keys to
the house so we had to take the bus to his city at the end of the night,
which was like 1 hour and then sleep there. so me and elder myers slept on
the floor and definilty found a bunch of bugs...i wont say what kind but
lets just say that i didnt sleep much, but it was cool, we ordered pizza
that night and all that good stuff. so we only did the trade for 1 day but
it was cool, more mission experiences. well time to go, i have to go catch
my bus to celandia for the interveiws, so love ya guys tons thanks for
everything!!!!
hope everyone has a good week!!! LOVE YA
ELDER DAVIS!

Monday, January 12, 2009

Family! January 6, 2009!

well family today wont be very long cuz i had alot to do today and now i am
doing the internet last and no time to write very much but i love ya all. so
this last week me and elder myers found a service project to do.....i
thought getting away from the house i would not have to weed for 2
years............ i thought wrong. hahaha we found this lady that lives on
the same lot as a member and she is like 60 or so. se had a big area that
needed some taking care of....pretty much just some serious weeding. it was
pretty bad. well me and elder myers went at it and now we will go back and
teach her this week. it was fun though we spent about 2 hours weeding this
huge area. i took a pic of it but i dont have it with me right now so i will
have to wait till next week. but it was fun. that and my new years was
awesome! we went to bed at 10 30!!!! haha but didnt do any sleeping.´people
here party until like 5 in the morning then go to bed and wake up the next
day about 10 and party again. we had the neighbors blasting music and being
really loud, like all the neighbors around us so ya it was pretty sweet...!
they keep lighting off fireworks and they exploded right next to our window
so it was really loud. anywho it was a very long night. other then that, not
to much new, i have a few things else but it will have to wait cuz i am in a
hurry so i love you guys tons hope everyone is haveing a great week!!!

eu te amo!!!

elder davis

Hello Family! December 16, 2008

well as christmas is getting closer and we are all feeling the spirit of
natal( christmas)....FELIZ NATAL!!! (merry christmas). so i hope everyone is
doing good, its been awhile since i have heard from some of you but no hard
feellings, still love ya all. well first off its been awhile since i have
added some pictures and i think i added like 91 or something today, so it
will give you all somthing to look at. alot has happened these last few
weeks, the most significant thing is that i am BEING TRANSFERED!! i am
leaving gama, i never thought it would happen. but it came, i am going to an
area called san antonio descoberto...... and i will be companions with an
american who arrived last transfer....scary! hahah this is my first american
comp, all the others have been brazilian. its been fun but we will see how
its goes. well i will try and explian some of the pics cuz i took alot these
last few weeks. sat was the ward christmas party but here they do it
different, they rent this place that has futebol fields and a place to eat
and aton of different stuff, and then they pretty much spend all day there.
so the bishop told us that we better be tehre so we went and it was pretty
sweet. played a bunch of soccer and i brought the baseball gloves,ya those
things were a big hit no one really knew how to play but they all wanted to
use so it was kinda funny to watch them, i put a video on shutter fly that
is the bishop throwing the ball to his son...ya its ugly...hahah! well there
are alot of pics of that and of sunday night. we had an investagator that
invited us to his house with his family ro eat dinner, its the family that
will get married then baptised!!! so we went there and he made dinner and i
made brownies! haha it was pretty good, we have been workin withthat family
for awhile and now we are planning the wedding and the baptism, to bad that
i wont be here for either of them becuase i am leaving today for my new
area...sad uh? :( but they will still join the church with or with out me so
thats what matters!!! lets see what else...ya i am not remember to much
right now so sorry, but ya finally leaving gama but its been aswesome here.
the members have been great its like family. when you are way far from your
family you create more families here and its been pretty hard to leave here
today....it feels like i am leaving alot behind but thats how its goes
right? oh and i put all the pics of the suitcase on there...thanks again
for everything guys! i loved it all. mom metioned to me that i hadnt
metioned some of the stuff that was in the suitcase, i loved everything that
was in it, and i have been using it all i just didnt rememeber evertything
when i sat down on the comp. :) but thanks again everyone...it was awesome.
hope ya like the pics. well what else....things have been sweet, i love
gama! now its off to another palce and i willhave to make friends fast to
find someone to spend chirstmas with...:) but that wont be hard after some
time here on the mission you learn to talk to anyone. but i will tell you
next week the number that you can call and the hour and all that. because it
will be in a new area i wont know until next week but i will tell yanext
week for sure, and yes mom i will get the address to my new house when i get
there and let ya know. haha well i hpe everyone is doing well. it should be
the school holidays by now...hows that erin and jake? any body got any cool
plans for the holidays. brazil here during christmas is alot different.
first of all there is no snow thats the hardest thing for me. and the people
here dont put up lights, very few do, i took a pic of a house that had
lights. but ya its weird cuz i dont see snow and i dont hear christmas
music, it just doesnt feel like christmas to me. its been raining alot so
its a nice change from the heat but even with that it doesnt feel like
christmas. but its all good though, i will definitly celebrate it with a
member or two in my new area wth my new comp the gringo! haha today was the
first pday in awhile that i had time to write and wasnt pressed for time.
anywho i love ya guys tons! thanks again for everything and i hope everyone
is haveing a FELIZ NATAL!!!

um grande braço,
elder davis