Hello to all!
well how is everyone doing? From the bits and pieces that i have been
hearing, most of you sound to be doing pretty well. wich is good to hear.
things here have been wonderful! last week i told you guys about a family
that we were teaching that we had marked to go to church with us, well they
went! and man did they love it. The dads name is Amarildo, and his wife name
is Elane, and there only daughter, monica. they all went to church last week
and they cant stop telling us how much they loved it! It was so cool, when
we went back the next day to see how they were doing and to share a message
with them, they just couldnt stop telling us how much they loved church on
sunday! its been the coolest experience teaching this family, they always
have great questions and are really eager to learn. we have been preparing
them to be baptised which will probably happen next sunday! ENTIRE FAMILY!
so we are getting pretty stoked around here. yesterday on the other hand,
was zone conference. it was great! you can tell that Presidente Pizzirani
was called of God to be the presidente here in Brasilia. the conference went
from 9 in the morning to 6 at night, it was pretty long, but very inspiring
and very uplifting. really what everyone needed to get that excitment and go
back out to work! the message that the presiddente shared with us at the end
of the confernce was about the holy ghost, and how he contines to purify us
through our lifes. he talked about how baptism cleans us from all of our
past sins, but as we have the holy ghost with us he helps us to clean from
our present sins. it was a really good message. anway as you can all see
things have been great here! Me and my companion have been working really
hard, the office has been keeping us really busy but we have been able to
focus alot on our investigators, which has been really nice.
anyway hope everyone is having a great week. One thing that was thinking
alot about this week was the temple. Its been awhile since i have gone, and
really when you are away from it for so long you really start to appreiate
it and what it really means to have one close by. thats probably one of the
biggest things that i have missed, so i want to challenge all you to go to
the temple in these next few weeks. Thats talking to all of you Jake and
Erin. I hope you all do everything you can to at least go once. i want you
all to know how much i love each and everyone of you, and how greatful i am
to have such a loving family! i love you guys alot!!
BEIJOS! :)
ELDER DAVIS
Monday, July 27, 2009
HAPPY 24 DE JULHO!
Posted by The Kari at 9:53 AM 0 comments
Monday, July 20, 2009
HAPPY 24TH OF JULY!
HELLO Davis family!!!
Well i thought i would wish you all a happy 24th of july seeing how the
holiday will be passing by until my next pday. well how is everyone doing?
As for me, well this week was an interesting week. Thursday we had to take a
missionary to the airport that was going home about a month early...it was a
sister missionary...cough cough... anyway so wednesday night we tried to
call her and tell her she needed to go to another city and stay the night
with some other sister missionaries so that we could pick her up in the
morning and take her to the airport, well when we called she wasnt with the
missionaries, she had left with a member doing who knows what.... well we
spent the night calling everyone we could to find her, we had the sisters of
that area looking for her and everything, the only cool part is that they
are in gama centro, my first area, and we had to call a ton of members in
that area to look for her, so i got to call alot of members from my first
area, that was really cool. to get to talk to them and everything, well when
we finally got ahold of her we had to find a ride for her to this other
city, all in all we finally got this sister to the right place at like 10:30
at night. the next day we took her to the airport..ya that was weird, cuz
there wasnt any other sisters going home, so she was going home by her self.
so it was just me and my companion, our driver, and her....even though thats
what the presidente told us to do, i felt like i was breaking rules...hahaha
it was weird, man getting home is going to be even worse!!! well that was
thursday, early in the week however was actually going really well. we have
been doing everything we can to get out of the ofice early each night to
teach in our areas. one of the things that i have been seeing is that the
lord really has been blessing us. this week we found a family that really
was wwaiting to hear the gospel. Senhor Amarildo and his family. it was
really cool, the first time we taught them they invited us in and all sat
done infront of us eager to hear what we had to say, they all had very good
questions and durig the whole lesson you could really feel the spirit
testifying to them that it was true. we gave them a book of mormon that they
promised to read and we marked to go to church with them this sunday. just
in this one week they have really progressed alot. I know that when we show
the Lord that we are willing to put forth the effort and work hard, he is
ready and willing to bless us. Teaching the gospel you can really see how
much light that it brings into the lives of others.
Well thats a good quick summary of my week, the office was just as busy as
ever, we have had a lot of stuff to do these past few days. but were still
moving along. i just cant believe that we are already half way through july!
this year really is flying by!!
well hope everyone is having a great week! i will let you know the progress
of this family next week! me and my companion are going to teach the the 2nd
lesson tonight, which is the plan of salvation! we are really excited about
it!
thanks for all the help you guys give me!! i love you guys tons!
EU AMO VOCÊS!!!
ELDER DAVIS
PS my subject kinda said it for me but HAPPY TWENTY FOURTH OF JULY!!!
somebody drink a DP for me! :)
Posted by The Kari at 12:38 PM 0 comments
Monday, July 13, 2009
JULHO!!!
HELLO FAMILY!
Can you guys believe that we are already in the month of July! This year is
flying by way to fast. Since i have been in the office time has been flying
by. I already have 3 months in the office and it definitly hasnt felt like
that. This last week we had the new missionaries arriving and the older ones
leaving, so once again we had to take them to the airport. but this time was
a little different, we took all the brazilians to the airport in the morning
at about 6 in the morning, and then had to be back at the ariport at 11 to
pick up all the newbies. we got them to the mission home and all that, and
then had to be back at the airport at 5 with the americans. Tuesday was wy
busy for us, we went to the airport like 3 or 4 times that day, going and
coming, giong and coming. but it was pretty cool, we had like 5 americans
arriving on the mission this time, and 16 total. there were also some
sisters that came in this group. i always like picking up the newbies,
freash out of the ctm. Its always very refreshing...hahaha.... but anyway
after tuesday, the week stayed pretty calm. we had plenty to do but i wasnt
running around like a chicken with its head cut off!! haha well mom said
that you guys got my letters, i just hope that each of you pick up a pencil
and send something my way...:)
So how is everyones summer? from what i have heard its like close to 95
degrees up in utah...that stinks for you guys, its winter here so i am
kickin it in the high 70´s to low 80´s, so ya the weather here is pretty
sweet. at night its like in the 60´s....and man am i loving it!!! but i wont
lie i could really go for some freezing tempeture, some snow on the
ground...man that sounds good.
well its pday( obvisously), me and the other elders here in the office are
going to ask for a pizza, so we are pretty stoked about that, they got some
pretty good pizza down here.
anyway well me and my new companion have started to work in a part of our
area that no one has been working in for awhile so its all kinda new to us,
but its been cool.its a diferent experience to go into an area where you
dont have a area book, or a teaching group and you jsut got to start looking
and talking to everyone to start. the other day we met this family that has
this little boy of like 3 years, man when we were teaching this kid just
would not stop running around. i mean if you want a defintion of A.D.D. i
found it! this kid was so hyper! its definitly different here in brazil,
speaking of the way that people raise there kids. they kept telling him to
be quite but he would just keep going, and when they want to punish him( you
could say) they just take off their flip flops to spank>.... could be a good
idea mom...JK ahaha but seriosly though, its so werid, everyone wears flip
flops( cuz they are alot cheaper then shoes) and they spank there kids,
dogs, whatever with them. its brazil! haha
when we were out teaching the other night in this little city, we came
across this party that the people were setting up in the road......man do
brazilians like sound or what...they turn on the music and they literly
blast it! you could here that music for miles, and i am not liying, and the
best part is that is agaisnt the law but no one does anything, they just go
with it. i was like a good 200 feet from the speakers passing by to the
other side and i felt like i would go deaf, and there were people with in a
few feet of the speakers....ya i am pretty sure they are deaf now!
well things with the office have been moving along. the weeks here fly by,
you always have so much stuff planned in one transfer that when you get half
way done with them,thats its already the 4th or 5th week in the transfer! so
we are always running to finish something here in the office. this last week
however was a little differnt, there were 2 days were i had to stay in the
office all day long cuz we had the people from são paulo come and do the
audit for the mission. so i stayed with them doing the audit, man that was
fun, i definitly dont want to do that when i get home.
so i dont know why i am telling you guys but i just thought that you guys
might get a kick out of it. so the other day i was in my office on the phone
and our driver was headed home, well some missionaries called me and i had
to leave to resolve their problem, so i jumped up and went to the window to
call our driver, so he would leave jsut yet...well we are about 4 stories up
and i opened the window to stop him from leaving and as i opened the widow
(with the hand that had the phone) i dropped my phone from the 4th story
window! sweet uh.....its these blond moments that makes me wonder about
myself.... but the best part about it, is that when i went to pick up my
phone...it still worked!!!! 4 stories and the thing still works!!!! thats
some good brazilian quality!!
well hope everyone is having a good week, thanks agian for all you guys do
for me!! LOVE YOU GUYS!!
Eu amo vocês!!
Elder Davis
ps i put some sweet pics in this email, cuz the fly shutter wasnt working
today. I sent a couple pics of the missionaries that i sent home this week,
the brazilians and americans! ´LOVE YA GUYS TONS!!!
Posted by The Kari at 9:33 AM 0 comments
importante!!!
ok so its not as important has the title would have you think, but its from
me!! so it gotta be of some importance right!? well i hope everyone is doing
well! things here have been very busy with transfers next week but we have
been able to get most things done. this next week however i will be in the
office for like 2 days straight with a guy from são paulo that has come to
do the audit for the mission! thats going to be exciting...doing
auditing!!!! hahaha gotta love it! well the only down side to this last week
is that because of all the stuff that the president had us doing we didnt
have hardly anytime to work in our areas. very little time if any, we have
been trying to get an apartment remodeled to deliver on wed. we have been
getting ready for the family night that we have with all the missionaries on
the transfer day ( monday) and also getting things ready for the people
leaving and the people coming on tues. its has been a none stop week. most
of us are pretty exhuasted but we did get alot done, and hoply we will be
prepared enough for monday and tuesday, ( some of the busiest days of the
transfer) the only thing that i can be for sure of is that i know i am
staying in the office and also that i will be getting a new companion. so i
know you guys want to know what happens here in the office, so i will try to
explain a little;
well most of the days i have to spend quite a bit of time out of the office,
doing lots of things. lots of times i am in the bank to pay bills or things
like that, and man the banks here always....ALWAYS... have lines of like an
hour or two long. there are alot of people that live in this city!!! then i
have to buy something for the mission office or the presidente or the
missionaries. most of the times i am resolving a problem with a house or
apartment, ( rent, damage, or some type of complaint that the owner comes up
with- which tends to be alot) some times i have to resolve problems with the
cell phones on the mission, of the phones in the mission office and mission
home. really the most of the time i am resolving some type of problem that
has to do with someone getting paid for something. people that do work at
the mission home, people that do stuff here in the office for us, owners of
houses, people that do work on the missionaries houses for us...there is
always plenty to do here in the office. you have to keep on yourtoes and
always be ready to resovle something!!! hahaha but its good, i have been
learing alot about administration and finances. which will really help me in
the future. this is why i love saturdays so much now.....50% of the calls
that i get stop for the weekend, its just the missionaries that call me sat.
and sun.!! the weekend is the best thing there is!!! but then there is
always the stuff that i do in the office, i have to worry about paying the
missionaries every 2 weeks, and reimbursing them for stuff that the mission
pays for, like bills and what not. that and making sure that if they need
somthing that it gets takin care of.
well thats a good run down some of the stuff that goes on here. it really
does get pretty busy here but busy is good. its better then just sittin in
the office!!
from what mom was telling me, everyone has been home this past week, anne
and brandon, jill, kari, meg, jake, erin...the whole gang!!!
jake...PARABEMS!!! (congradulations) its the temple awesome man!!! i would
really like to get a letter from ya man, telling me how it was, i really
would hav like to be there but no worries, there will always be lots of
times when we both get home!! well i am out of time, i got to get running
again, still got a few things to do before the night is over, just stopped
long enough to write you guys an email!!!
Posted by The Kari at 9:28 AM 0 comments